Reasons for awarding the title

 Hoyer Werner 480x480

Dr. Werner Hoyer
President, European Investment Bank  

The EIB and subsidiary European Investment Fund have helped drive innovation and productivity both in Europe as well as abroad, fulfilling a bank’s traditional function as financial intermediary to the real economy without crowding out the private sector.

In awarding the prize this year to Werner Hoyer, the Group “20 + 1” recognizes the EIB Group’s important contribution to the economic stability and development of Europe. Awarding the price to the president of the EIB, Werner Hoyer, demonstrates the need of commitment within the European Union. The prize reflects the work in the past, but in these challenging times it should also send a strong signal for the need of solidarity within Europe. 

The EIB sets standards. Nearly a third of the EIB’s activities in 2019 were earmarked for climate-related projects and environmental sustainability, and Hoyer is pushing for a higher share this year as he targets the 50 percent threshold for 2025. During his tenure, the bank has funded a cumulative 150 billion euros in projects that help reduce greenhouse gas emissions. More broadly, the EIB President has stated everything the bank does will now be fully aligned with the Paris Agreement on climate change.

Werner Hoyer took over as president in 2012. With his experience as a politician in various positions in Germany and his background as an economist, he navigates the EIB in very troubled and uncertain waters regarding Europe’s future. The price reflects his commitment as head of an European institution, but also the institution itself.

 

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Begründung der Wahl

 Hoyer Werner 480x480

Dr. Werner Hoyer
Präsident, Europäische Investitionsbank


Die EIB und die Tochtergesellschaft Europäischer Investitionsfonds treiben Innovation und Produktivität in Europa und im außereuropäischen Ausland stetig voran. Sie nehmen dabei die Funktion einer Finanzinstitution als Intermediär für die Realwirtschaft war, ohne dabei den Privatsektor zu verdrängen.


Mit der diesjährigen Verleihung des Preises an Werner Hoyer würdigt die „Gruppe 20 + 1“ den Beitrag der EIB-Gruppe zur wirtschaftlichen Stabilität und Entwicklung Europas. Die Verleihung des Preises an den Präsidenten der EIB, Werner Hoyer, trägt diesem Einsatz und dem Engagement innerhalb der Europäischen Union Rechnung. Der Preis würdigt die Arbeit in der Vergangenheit, soll in diesen herausfordernden Zeiten zugleich aber auch ein starkes Signal für die Notwendigkeit der Solidarität innerhalb Europas senden.


Die EIB setzt Maßstäbe. Fast ein Drittel der Aktivitäten der EIB im Jahr 2019 wurde für klimabezogene Projekte und ökologische Nachhaltigkeit verwendet. Werner Hoyer will diesen Anteil in diesem und in den kommenden Jahren weiter deutlich erhöhen. So soll im Jahr 2025 die 50-Prozent-Schwelle erreicht sein. Während seiner Amtszeit hat die Bank kumuliert 150 Milliarden Euro für Projekte finanziert, die zur Verringerung der Treibhausgasemissionen beitragen. Der EIB-Präsident hat erklärt, dass zukünftig alle Aktivitäten der EIB mit dem Pariser Abkommen zum Klimawandel in Einklang gebracht werden sollen.


Werner Hoyer hat das Amt des Präsidenten der EIB im Jahr 2012 übernommen. Mit seiner Erfahrung als Politiker in verschiedenen Positionen in Deutschland und seinem Hintergrund als Wirtschaftswissenschaftler navigiert er die EIB in sehr unruhigem Fahrwasser Europas. Der Preis würdigt seine Verdienste als Präsident einer europäischen Institution, dabei gleichzeitig aber auch die Institution selbst.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio